providing arts opportunities in ohio's Ashtabula County since 1989

The Ashtabula County Choral Music Society is a Non-profit 501(c)3 organization dedicated to the mission of providing quality performances of significant choral works for Ashtabula County audiences while providing singers with educational and musical experiences since 1989.

Paul Shellhammer is a local resident and a former singer with the Ashtabula County Choral Music Society. He has directed choirs at Good Shepherd Lutheran Church in Conneaut and Trinity Lutheran Church in Columbus. He is an accomplished organist and percussionist, a graduate of Conneaut High School, and he earned a Bachelor's degree in Fine Arts from Ohio University. While at OU, he received the Socciarelli Service and Leadership Award. Paul also has participated in Master classes at Julliard, St. Olaf and the Manhattan School of Music. He currently resides in Ashtabula and is a supervisor at Kinder Morgan Pinney Dock.

Sandra Matheny joins the ACCMS as an accomplished music teacher and musician. She completed a BS in Music Education at Concord University in Athens, West Virginia and received her Master of Sacred Music from Wittenburg University in Springfield, Ohio. She is a successful teacher, having received Music Teacher of the Year Award sponsored by the Columbus Symphony Orchestra. As a musician she has served churches in Tennessee and Ohio. Sandra lives in Conneaut with her husband, Gary Matheny. They have a son, Philip, who lives in Portland, Oregon.

Artistic Director: Paul Shellhammer III

Ashtabula County Choral Music Society

Accompanist: Sandra Matheny

Board Members and Support Staff.

(L-R) Dawn Grimm, Miriam Cartner, Kathleen Milford, Sara Yoak, David Speelman, Barb Fohl, Andrew Chiodo, Norris Kelly.

(Front) Becky Levering, MaryAnn Jordan, Jennifer Palagyi,

ACCMS offers a variety of programs each season at different venues throughout Ashtabula County.

  • Quarterly Concerts
  • Recital Series
  • Community Service
  • Hall of Fame Recognitions
  • Ohio Arts Council Grant Recipient